Dr. Diana Wu twice honored by American Association of Women Dentists

Diana Wu, DDS
Diana Wu, DDS

Dr. Diana Wu, a 2012 dental graduate of the Indiana University School of Dentistry, was twice honored by the American Association of Women Dentists (AAWD) in May.

In addition to the AAWD Eleanor J. Bushee leadership award for women in dentistry that Dr. Wu received at graduation, she also has learned she is one of 10 female dental students in the nation to receive a 2012 AAWD Colgate Research Award, which is bestowed on third- and fourth-year dental students who have shown academic distinction and demonstrated excellence in research.

Dr. Wu, originally of Cebu, Philippines, graduated from dental school with high distinction and was inducted into Theta Theta Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon national dental honor society. She was extensively involved in student research during her dental education at IU. She presented research projects on orthodontic topics at the 2010 American Association for Dental Research meeting in Washington, D.C., and at the 2011 International Association for Dental Research meeting in San Diego, Calif. She received the Procter & Gamble Award for Excellence in Preventive Oral Health Care at Research Day 2011, and the Cyril S. Carr Research Scholarship for overall excellence in predoctoral research at Research Day 2012.

May 31, 2012