IU School of Dentistry Graduating Classes Represent 19 U.S. States and 14 Nations

The 2013 IU School of Dentistry Pre-Commencement brochure contains the graduates
The 2013 IU School of Dentistry Pre-Commencement brochure contains the graduates' photos, hometowns, personal remarks, and awards.

As degree and certificate candidates of the Indiana University School of Dentistry crossed the stage one by one in the Sagamore Ballroom at the Indiana Convention Center on the evening of May 11, they each took a unique and permanent place in the history of a school that celebrated its 133rd graduation this year.

Following Saturday’s pre-commencement program, the candidates officially graduated one day later during IUPUI’s commencement ceremonies, also held at the convention center.

The IU dental school Classes of 2013 were composed of 229 students from hometowns in 19 U.S. states and territories and 14 nations:

• 33 Candidates for the Dental Assisting Certificate
• 40 Candidates for the Associate of Science Degree in Dental Hygiene
• 13 Candidates for the Bachelor of Science Degree in Public Health Dental Hygiene
• 99 Candidates for the Doctor of Dental Surgery Degree
• 35 Candidates for the Master of Science in Dentistry Degree
•   1 Candidate for the Doctor of Philosophy Degree
•   8 Candidates for Certificates in the Hospital-Based General Practice Residency and Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Residency

Students have graduated from Indiana’s dental school every year since 1880 except for 1920, the year the school’s predecessor, the Indiana Dental College, transitioned from a three- to a four-year dental program.

Dentistry’s 2013 pre-commencement program followed a Saturday afternoon open house and reception at the school for the graduates and their families.

A pre-commencement audience of about 2,000 was welcomed by John Williams, dean of the School of Dentistry; greeted by Nasser Paydar, executive vice chancellor and chief academic officer, IUPUI; and congratulated by Joe Baumgartner, president of the IU School of Dentistry Alumni Association.

Class representatives giving the traditional farewell remarks included Stephanie Wiltermood, Dental Assisting class president; Linh Mai, Dental Hygiene class president; Erik Zundo, Dental class president; and Dhara Patel, Graduate Dentistry representative.

The Dental Assisting, Dental Hygiene, and Dental classes each recited a pledge to professionalism, and were led in this exercise by Pamela Ford, the dental school’s director of Dental Assisting; Renee Anderson, president of the Indiana Dental Hygienists’ Association; and John Roberts, president of the Indiana Dental Association.

As part of their graduation exercise, students receiving the Doctor of Dental Surgery degree were hooded by a garment of lilac hue, the official color of Dentistry, with a red and white lining representing Indiana University’s official school colors. Each graduate was given the choice of being hooded by a dental school faculty member or a loved one who holds a doctorate.

The IU School of Dentistry’s student performance choir, Vertical Dimension, closed the program by leading the audience in a beautiful rendition of IU’s official Alma Mater song, “Hail to Old IU.”

Additional celebrations for dental graduates and their families included Dean Williams’ Sunday morning awards breakfast at the Indiana Convention Center, which led into IUPUI’s commencement for degree recipients. A total of 43 graduating students of dentistry were recognized with 101 honors and awards, including the following men and women who were honored at a previous ceremony and inducted into Theta Chapter of Sigma Phi Alpha national dental hygiene honor society and Theta Theta Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon national dental honor society.


Amber Brown
Lauren Clark
Holly Oden
Laura Price
Ingrid Scott


Matthew Backs
Dennis Gillespie
Van Hoang
Phillip Jakubowicz
Daniel Jenks
Tyler Kimmel
Jaclyn Ridder*
Brandon Scheer
Devin Shone
Emily Thomas
Margaret Watkins

*Jaclyn Ridder was named OKU’s Outstanding Student for Theta Theta Chapter.

May 13, 2013