A. H. Kafrawy, BDS, MSD

A. H. Kafrawy, BDS, MSD
A. H. Kafrawy, BDS, MSD

Professor Emeritus
Department of Oral Pathology, Medicine & Radiology

Contact Info

(317) 274-5141 (Secretary)
(317) 278-3018 (Fax)

Office Address

1121 West Michigan Street
Room S110
Indianapolis, Indiana  46202-5186

A. H. Kafrawy retired in December 2000 after serving on the faculty of Indiana University School of Dentistry for 31 years.  He obtained his  BDS degree from Cairo University, Egypt (1958) & attended Cairo University School of Medicine before obtaining his MSD degree in Oral Diagnosis/Oral Medicine from IUSD in 1962.  He has been a key figure in the education of the hundreds of students who have passed through IU's advanced degree & certificate programs in dentistry.  His courses were designed to underscore the important, if sometimes obscure relationship between oral & systemic environments.  His extensive knowledge & understanding of histology, pathology, & physiology have provided his students with the guidance & impetus to undertake research studies conducted in partial fulfillment of their advanced degrees.  Dr. Kafrawy has also served as a mentor for many predoctoral students during their summer research programs.  His contributions to the scientific literature (approximately 150 publications)  have appeared in a wide variety of journals & textbooks, mirroring the diversity of fields represented by the students he has taught during his career.  Dr. Kafrawy has long been a member of the American Academy of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology, the American Association for Dental Research, the International Association for Dental Research, the American Society for Microbiology, the American Association for the Advancement of Science & Omicron Kappa Upsilon, where he was recently elected as a Faculty Member.  In 1981 the Indiana Dental Association recognized Dr. Kafrawy with one of two top faculty honors bestowed by the organization:  the Excellence in Teaching Award.  More recently, he received the Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching in 2000.