The Department of Orthodontics & Oral Facial Genetics boasts a diverse faculty trained in multiple orthodontic techniques. Many faculty have secondary specialties that have contributed to the uniqueness and success of the program. We are grateful for their hard work and dedication, and especially to our volunteers for their time.

Our organizational chart is available here.

Interim Chair

*Kelton T. Stewart, DDS, MS, Program Director, Orthodontic Clinic


David Albright, DDS, MSD


Peter Buschang, MA, PhD
*Michael C. Frazier, DDS, MS
Tasha Hall, DMD, MSD
*Lana Helms, DDS, MSD, PC
*Jay Hughes,  DDS
*O.H. Rigsbee, DDS, MS
Mark Rosenthall, DDS, MSD


*Nelson R. Diers, DDS, MSD
*Ahmed A. M. Ghoneima, BDS, MSc, PhD
*James Hartsfield Jr, DMD, PhD
Michael J. Koufos, DDS
James V. Macri, DDS, MSD
*Achint Utreja, BDS, MS, PhD

Joint Appointments with Purdue University School of Engineering & Technology (IUPUI)

Jie Chen, PhD, Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Thomas R. Katona, DMD, PhD, Director of the Biomechanics Laboratory 

Retired Faculty

*James J. Baldwin, DDS, MSD
*Charles Burstone, DDS, Ph.D.
*William F. Hohlt, DDS, Professor Emeritus of Orthodontics
*Katherine S. Kula, MS, DMD, MS, Professor Emeritus of Orthodontics
*W. Eugene Roberts, DDS, PhD, DHC (Med), Professor Emeritus of Orthodontics

*  Certified by the American Board of Orthodontics
^  Certified by the American Board of Medical Genetics
#  Certified by the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry