The Department of Endodontics actively supports the mission and goals of Indiana University School of Dentistry towards "being one of the best dental schools in the 21st century." The mission of the Endodontic Department is to provide education and conduct research in the biology of the dental pulp and the diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of diseases and injuries of the pulp and associated periradicular tissues.

Dr. Kenneth J. Spolnik is Chairman and Program Director of the Endodontic Department. Dr. Ned Warner is the Director of the Pre-doctoral Endodontic Program and Dr. Josef Bringas has full-time teaching responsibilities in the Graduate Endodontic Program. Dr. Ygal Ehrlich is the Director of Endodontic Research.

Our full-time faculty are supported by 17 exceptionally qualified part-time faculty, most of whom are nationally recognized clinicians in both surgical and non-surgical endodontics. Our Graduate Endodontic Program is 24 months long and offers a certificate in Endodontics. A Masters in Science Degree in Dentistry (M.S.D.) is required in addition to the endodontic certificate. At the present time, the graduate endodontic residents receive a stipend. All of our graduate clinic operatories are equipped with surgical microscopes, digital imaging, and state-of-the-art delivery systems.

There are five graduate endodontic positions available at Indiana University School of Dentistry and one position at the Roudebush Veterans Administration Medical Center. The Veterans Administration position is associated with Indiana University and is supervised by the endodontic faculty at Indiana University School of Dentistry.

The Department of Endodontics is very active and visible both at the university and national levels. We are committed to the mission of education, research, exceptional patient care, and service.